Globe Telecom honors Davao journalists in “1st Davao Media Excellence Awards”!

Globe Telecom gives recognition to the journalistic excellence and achievement of Davao journalist with the first-ever Globe Media Excellence Awards, the biggest journalism event of the region.

“as 2012 draws to a close, the Davao Media Excellence Awards is a fitting event to honor the best and the brightest from the print, broadcast, and online media. The Media Awards are conferred to press people who have demonstrated journalistic achievement in their reportage of issues bith of local and national significance, ” says Yoly Crisanto, corporate communications head of Globe Telecom.

“We had a great response from members of the Davao media and we look forward to continuing the yearly event. Globe will always be supportive of the remarkable achievement of the members of the Davao media,” Crisanto added.

Leading the pack of winners are the Reporter of the Year awardees from print media Kristianne Marie Fusilero of Mindanao Times grabbed the Reporter of the Year award for both Environment and Disaster Response and Governance and Social Progress categories while Roger Montano of Durian Post bagged the Reporter of the Year award for Business & Entrepreneurship and Category. SunStar Davao reporters’ Antonio Colina and Ivy Tejano were awarded the Reporter of the Year for  Information and Communications Technology and Reporter of the Year for Youth and Education categories respectively.

Vinafel Aranta of ABS-CBN Davao was awarded Reporter of the Year for Television with Admar Vilando of DXRD Sonshine Radio Davao was awarded Reporter of the Year for Radio.

Randolf Cañedo of ABS-CBN Davao received the award for Broadcaster of the Year while Rene Ezpeleta Bartolo of MIndanao Times is the Columnist of the Year awardee.

Virginia Arcilla-Agtay of SunStar Davao won the Feature Story of th Year for Print award for her story ‘Back to the Dark Age’ while John Paul Seniel of GMA Davao received the Feature Story of the Year for Television award.

Durian Post publisher & editorRoger Montano Balanza od durianburgdavao, on the other hand won the Blogger of the Year award.

The awardees were chosen by distinguished panel of judges led by Ms. Ma. Margarita “Margie” Moran Floirendo, chairperson of the Mindanao Commission on Women from 24 finalists. Other judges include Philippine Women’s College of Davao Director Dr. Macario Tiu, University of Southeastern Philippines Institute of Language Executive Director Dr. Patricia Elbanbuena, University of Mindanao Institute of Popular OpinionExecutive Director Dr. Ma. Linda Arquiza, DOT 11 Regional Director Arturo Boncato Jr., ICT Davao President Wit Holganza, Investment Promotion and Public Affairs Office Director III Romeo Montenegro, Yahoo Philippines Country Editor Erwin Oliva, and Investor Relations Global Managing Director of Lito Buñag.

Punongbayan & Araullo (P&A), a leading accounting, auditing and advisory services firm counted and validated the winners of the Media Award.

The Davao Media Awards winners received cash prizes and a trophy. The Awarding ceremony was held last November 23 at the Royal Mandaya Hotel in Davao City.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...